At The University of Alabama, we encourage creativity and the expression of new ideas through the establishment of student organizations. Any enrolled UA student can create a new student organization following the guidelines below.

The proposal submission deadline for new organizations who wish to be a part of Fall 2022 GOBD and Organization Takeover is August 15th. This deadline will NOT be extended. 

How to Create a New Organization

Read the Create an Org Packet 2022-2023 (PDF) for complete details.

Any group of 10 or more currently enrolled UA students who refer to themselves as an organization or club must apply to be recognized by the Office of Student Involvement. Any organization that has not been registered through mySource previously or is defunct/inactive for 1 year is considered a new organization.

To register a new organization for recognition by the University of Alabama, complete the steps below.

Before applying:

  1. Review all minimum requirements listed in the Create an Org Packet 2022-2023 (PDF)
  2. Ensure that the new organization mission does not duplicate or closely resemble any currently active student organizations listed in mySource
  3. Find and confirm a full-time faculty or staff member to serve as the organization advisor (graduate students and part-time employees do not fulfill this requirement)
  4. Confirm three UA students who will fill the required officer positions (president, vice president, and treasurer) for the organization

Submitting a proposal:

  1. Review the application deadlines below
  2. Complete the New Organization Proposal 2022-2023 form on mySource
  3. Review proposal feedback and make changes if required by Student Involvement staff

Completing the provisional period:

  1. Complete the training, membership, and goal setting requirements (detailed information about new organization requirements are emailed to student officers if their new organization proposal is approved)
  2. Meet with the Source Board Director of New Organizations
  3. Officially register your new organization in MySource including your organization constitution, 10 UA student members, and Child Protection and Hazing form

Application Deadlines 2022-2023

Org Proposal DeadlineCohort NameOrg Proposal ReviewProvisional Period End Date (if approved)Full Org Status (if all requirements are met)
August 15August CohortAugust 16 – 20September 30October 1
September 1September CohortSeptember 1 – 15October 31November 1
November 1November CohortNovember 1 – 15January 15January 15
February 1February CohortFebruary 1 – 15March 31April 1
March 1March CohortMarch 1 – 15April 30May 1

Applications will be reviewed in bulk after each proposal deadline. During the two weeks after each application deadline, students will receive feedback about their new organization proposal and modifications may be required.

Priority Deadline for Fall Involvement Events

August 15 is the 2022 fall priority deadline for any new student organization that wants to participate in Fall Get On Board Day, Organization Takeover, or any early fall activities. Applicants who do not meet this deadline will not be approved to participate.

Provisional Period

Please note that all UA student organization requirements and training requirements must be met by the end of the provisional period in order to gain full status as an active student organization. New organizations who do not successfully complete all of these requirements will remain in their provisional period until all requirements are complete.

During the provisional period new organizations cannot:

  • Host events requiring registration through the mySource event form (a list of registration requirements can be found in the Social Event Guidelines)
  • Apply for Financial Affairs Committee (FAC) funding through the Student Government Association
  • Adopt marketing, products, or other references using University of Alabama Trademarked and Licensed brands or its privileges

Once a student organization’s provisional period is complete the organization will be listed on mySource and have access to these resources.

New Organizations 2022-2023

The following new organizations are currently in their provisional period. If you are interested in joining an organization, reach out to the president by email.

New OrganizationPresident NamePresident E-mailCohort
Bama Indigenous Student Organization NetworkKatherine Johnstonkrjohnston2@crimson.ua.eduJanuary 2022
Flying ColorsLeah Rumptzlrrumptz@crimson.ua.eduFebruary 2022
Bama Adult Congenital Heart Association
Riley Bowling
rhbowling@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Bama Improvfessional TheatreMaria Grenyo
mngrenyo@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Capstone Musicians
Yifei Sun
ysun76@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
C&IS Graduate Organization
Mackenzie Quick
smquick@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Common Ground
Samuel Cornelius
srcornelius@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Crimson Improv Team
Victor Mullins
vjmullins@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
End Overdose UAHayden Rutter
harutter@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Girls Club UAElisabeth Bergmann
embergmann@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Health Law Society
Crystal Armstrong
cnarmstrong@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Historical Martial ArtsYuchen Daiydai15@crimson.ua.eduAugust 2022
It's On Us
Kennedy Carter
kmcarter7@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Mi Gente
Natalia Acevedo
nacevedo@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
ONE College Ministry
Kaylea Hudson
kahudson3@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Racquetball Club
Adriana Riveros
asriverosgonzales@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
SKY Campus Happiness at UATanmayee Naik
trnaik@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Students Demand ActionMakayla Jordanmdjordan3@crimson.ua.eduAugust 2022
Students For Sensible Drug Policy
Marlie E Thompson
mthompson13@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Swipe it ForwardMichael Natalimcnatali@crimson.ua.eduAugust 2022
The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
Victoria Oldham
voldham@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Crimson Project

Yonathan Janka
ymjanka@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Culverhouse Academic Honor CouncilKatherine McDonald
kemcdonald6@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Federalist Society
Paul Barringer
pbbarringer@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Jiu Jitsu Organization
Max Eberle
maeberle1@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Oaks
Grace Chapman
Gachapman@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Society of Asian Scientists and Engineers

Emma Lankford
elankford1@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The UA Geology Club
Ryan Haag
rehaag1@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
Tuscaloosa Civil Rights and ReconciliationSimone Hampton dshampton@crimson.ua.eduAugust 2022
UA Flute Society
Stephen Clark
sjclark6@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
UA Women in Gaming
Cassandra Besen
cmbesen@crimson.ua.edu
August 2022
The Student Small Business AssociationBryan Smolka
bwsmolka@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
UKirk Campus MinistryKatherine Brockmann
kabrockmann@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
UA Skateboard ClubJacob Cook
jmcook8@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Capstone Collegiate Real Estate AcademyLilly Beth Glenn
leglenn@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Bama Bee ClubKaitlyn Via
kevia@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
UA Women's Water Polo ClubCarley Hart
chart4@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Biomedical Engineering SocietyCarter Clough
cmclough1@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Pagan and Neo-Pagan SocietyAshton Williams
aawilliams14@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Arts Leadership AssociationEmilia Stuart
epstuart@crimson.ua.edu
September 2022
Black Women in NursingKalynn McElrathkemcelrath@crimson.ua.eduSeptember 2022

Resources

FAQ

To be recognized by the University of Alabama as a registered student organization you need the following:

  • At least 10 interested members with names, emails, and contact information (all UA students)
  • A President, Vice-President, and Treasurer (all UA Students)
  • A faculty/staff advisor, who must be a full-time employee of The University of Alabama (graduate students and part-time employees do not fulfill this requirement)
  • An organization constitution established in accordance with specific guidelines set by The University of Alabama for all registered organizations. For more information, read the Constitution Writing Guide (PDF)
Students may ask any University of Alabama full-time faculty or staff member to serve as an advisor to their organization. Students will often ask mentors, faculty or staff members in the department the organization is in, or faculty or staff members they know might have an interest in the organization. Having a difficult time identifying an organization advisor? Contact us for assistance at uainvolvement@ua.edu.
All student organizations keep their mySource profile updated. Organizations are required to update their officer, constitution, membership, and policy agreements yearly through the organization renewal process.  However, officers should update the organization profile anytime there is an officer or advisor change.
  1. Reservation of meeting and event space on campus and sponsorship of on-campus events
  2. Organization profile on mySource, the official online database of University of Alabama student organizations
  3. Applying for funds through the Student Government Association Financial Affairs Committee (FAC)
  4. Promotion and access to publish announcements in University publications
  5. Participation in fall and spring recruitment events like Get On Board Day and Organization Take Over
  6. Promotion to incoming students through the Involvement Quiz, Involvement Geniuses, and Source social media
  7. Consultation with Office of Student Involvement professional staff on organizational issues (conflict resolution, retreats, officer transition, event planning, etc.) and support from the Source Board of Governors
  8. Access to The Trunk student organization business and resource center
  9. Free advertising via digital displays in The University of Alabama Student Center and Housing facilities
  10. Leadership development and training opportunities through the Office of Student Involvement